Exhibitions 2021

 

Group exhibition:
MÖBELhAUSKUNST in the art house "sans titre",
Französische Str. 18 in 14467 Potsdam

Opening: June 12 at 5:00 pm
Duration: June 13 - July 18, 2021
Open: Wed-Sun 12-18 h

An exhibition curated by Claudia Busching and Pomona Zipser in collaboration with Mikos Meininger and Werner Ruhnke. With 33 artists, a rather "low-priced" furniture store is imitated ironically, lustfully and with humor.
Under headings such as bedroom or bed department, kitchen, household and tableware, lamps, textiles and carpets, artworks are shown that are on the intersection between art and use. The arrangement of the works resembles the presentation in a furniture store, not in a museum or gallery.
The exhibition is accompanied by a catalog


 

 

Solo exhibition: Décoration de Luxe
Gallery Antonella Cattani | Contemporary Art - Italy/South Tyrol

December 2020–March 2021
Antonella Cattani | Contemporary Art, Rosengartenstrasse 1a, Bolzano/Italy
www.antonellacattaniart.com

Dana Widawski presents in her exhibition Decorations de Luxe kitschy porcelain figures on finely glazed consoles, ornamental wall coverings, decorative ceramic plates and tiles on which she has burned her figurative fantasies.

Formally aesthetic, but also qualitatively handcrafted, her works really do look as if they had been stolen from an arts and crafts museum, but it would be too fleeting to leave it at that. Rather, she holds a mirror behind the decorations of humanity and does not hesitate to deal with stereotypes, to uncover absurdities and to play with contrasts. Her apparently decorative works of art are subtle and amusing in tone but also very provocative.

With her sculpture Figures de Dècoration No. 1, for example, the Berlin-based artist is taking part in the #Me-Too debate with "rococo" decorative figures auctioned on eBay, to which she applied speech bubbles in comic-strip style. The pair of sculptures are presented on a handmade ceramic console on which, painted in the old master style in underglaze, the hashtag icon is burned into a rocaille frame. Dissonances in the harmony of form and content are deliberately used to steer the debate into a quite different perspective. While in the Rococo period the Age of Enlightenment was germinating in back rooms of elite salons, Christian moral concepts were discussed and questioned, at the beginning of the digital age grievances are publicly denounced in the form of hashtag tweets in social networks.

In a similar way, Widawski's wallpaper pictures parallel the Arts & Crafts movement of industrialization with today's zeitgeist and events. On some of these stencil paintings on canvas, she reconstructed William Morris' ornaments and commented on his vision of a more livable society inscribed in the ornament in the form of a picture puzzle.

With her profound knowledge of the aesthetics and symbolic language of past cultural epochs, the freedoms she allows herself with her "artisan reconstructions" are anything but arbitrary. It is worth taking a deep look behind the scenes of what seems to be merely decorative decorations.


 

Group exhibition: Terra Nova
Galerie Art Mûr - Montréal, Québec/Kanada

February 9 – April 24, 2021
Galerie Art Mûr, 5826 St-Hubert, Montréal, Québec/Kanada
www.artmur.com

At the beginning of the year 2021, the ART MÛR Gallery takes a look at the present and the future with the group exhibition Terra Nova, with which it also starts its 25th anniversary year. It is a great honor for me to be able to comment on the theme of the exhibition with some of my works.


 

January 22 at 20:00  o'clock, video release
Right in January, the Beethoven Year goes into overtime with ELISE SHUT UP!
In collaboration with the composer and pianist Andreas F. Staffel and me, an interdisciplinary video project has been created, which we want to present and stream to you for the first time and live from the music studio Ohrpheo. Following our video release, journalist Ernst Ludwig von Aster (Deutschlandradio) will lead a roundtable discussion with those involved in the project.

A pianist and hands on six music boxes fight a duel for and with Beethoven's - to the point of weariness copied - melody 'For Elise'. The mechanics of the music boxes are placed in consoles, each of which bears anonymised busts of other famous composers, though only Beethoven himself can be heard in the ensemble. In 6 variations, his commercially exploited bagatelle is lovingly caressed, twisted, sliced, then at last buried, through both analogue and digital means. The video project 'Elise, shut up!' is a dialogue between Dana Widawski's sound sculptures and Andreas F. Staffel's music, something to be naturally seen as well as heard.

Further information at: www.andreas-staffel.de #Beethoven2020 or on this page

 


 

February 26, 2021
Group exhibition: Armin Sandig Prize 2020 
Kunstverein Hof e.V., Freiheitshalle Hof, Kulmbacher Str. 4, Hof (Bavaria/Franconia).
Surprisingly, I was nominated among 33 artists out of 650 applications for the Armin Sandig Prize 2020 with three of my tile tableaus. The exhibition associated with the award ceremony will open in February in the Freiheitshalle Hof.
A catalog will be published to accompany the exhibition.

Ausstellungen 2021

Gruppenausstellung:
MÖBELhAUSKUNST im Kunsthaus "sans titre",
Französische Str. 18 in 14467 Potsdam

Eröffnung: 12. Juni um 17:00 Uhr
Dauer: 13. Juni - 18. Juli 2021
Geöffnet: Mi-So 12-18 Uhr

Eine Ausstellung, kuratiert von Claudia Busching und Pomona Zipser in Zusammenarbeit mit Mikos Meininger und Werner Ruhnke. Mit 33 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wird ironisch, lustvoll und mit Humor ein eher „tiefpreisiges“ Möbelhaus imitiert.
Unter Rubriken wie z.B. Schlafzimmer oder Bettenabteilung, Küche, Haushalt und Geschirr, Lampen, Textiles und Teppiche werden Kunstwerke gezeigt, die sich auf der Schnittlinie zwischen Kunst und Gebrauch befinden. Die Anordnung der Werke ähnelt der Präsentation im Möbelhaus, nicht der im Museum oder in einer Galerie.
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog


 

Gruppenausstellung: Terra Nova
Galerie Art Mûr - Montréal, Québec/Kanada

09. Februar – 24. April 2021
Galerie Art Mûr, 5826 St-Hubert, Montréal, Québec/Kanada
www.artmur.com

Einen Blick in die Gegenwart und Zukunft wirft gleich zu Jahresanfang 2021 die Galerie ART MÛR mit der Gruppenausstellung Terra Nova, mit der sie auch ihr 25. Jubiläumsjahr startet. Es ist mir eine große Ehre mit einigen Arbeiten das Thema der Ausstellung kommentieren zu dürfen.


 

Einzelausstellung: Décoration de Luxe
Galerie Antonella Cattani | Contemporary Art – Italien/Südtirol

Dezember 2020.–März 2021 (verlängert bis vorrauss. Mai)
Antonella Cattani | Contemporary Art, Rosengartenstraße 1a, Bolzano/Italien
www.antonellacattaniart.com

Dana Widawski präsentiert in ihrer Ausstellung Decorations de Luxe kitschige Porzellanfiguren auf fein glasierten Konsolen, ornamentale Wandverkleidungen, dekorative Keramikteller und Fliesen auf denen sie ihre figurativen Fantasien einbrannte.
Formal ästhetisch aber auch qualitativ handwerklich, muten ihre Arbeiten tatsächlich aus einem Kunstgewerbemuseum gestohlen, es wäre jedoch zu flüchtig geschaut es dabei zu belassen. Sie hält vielmehr einen Spiegel hinter den Dekorationen der Menschheit und zögert dabei nicht sich mit Stereotypen auseinanderzusetzen, Absurditäten aufzudecken und mit Kontrasten zu spielen. Ihre scheinbar dekorativen Kunstwerke sind subtil und amüsant im Ton aber auch sehr provokant.
So beteiligt sich die Berliner Künstlerin zum Beispiel mit ihrer Skulptur Figures de Dècoration Nr.1 an der #Me-Too-Debatte mit auf eBay ersteigerten „Rokoko“ Dekorationsfiguren an denen sie Sprechblasen in Comic-Manier applizierte. Das Skulpturenpaar präsentiert sie auf einer handgefertigten Keramikkonsole, auf der, altmeisterlich in Unterglasur gemalt, das Hashtag-Symbol in Rocaille gerahmt eingebrannt ist. Dissonanzen in der Harmonie von Form und Inhalt werden bewusst eingesetzt, um die Debatte in eine ganz andere Betrachtung lenken zu können. Während im Rokoko in Hinterzimmern elitärer Salons das Zeitalter der Aufklärung keimte, christliche Moralvorstellungen diskutiert und in Frage gestellt wurden, werden zu Beginn des digitalen Zeitalters öffentlich, in Form von Hashtag-Tweets in sozialen Netzwerken, Missstände angeprangert.
Auf ähnliche Weise parallelisiert Widawski mit ihren Tapetenbildern die Arts & Crafts Bewegung der Industrialisierung mit dem heutigen Zeitgeist und -geschehen. Auf einigen dieser Schablonenmalereien auf Leinwand rekonstruierte sie William Morris Ornamente und kommentierte vexierbildhaft seine im Ornament eingeschriebene Vision einer lebenswerteren Gesellschaft.
Durch ihr fundiertes Wissen in der Ästhetik und Symbolsprache vergangener Kulturepochen, sind ihre Freiheiten, die sie sich mit ihren „kunsthandwerklichen Rekonstruktionen“ erlaubt, alles andere als beliebig. Es lohnt sich ein tiefer Blick hinter den Kulissen der scheinbar nur verzierenden Dekorationen.


 

26. Februar - 18. April 2021
Gruppenausstellung: Armin-Sandig-Preis 2020 
Kunstverein Hof e.V., Freiheitshalle Hof, Kulmbacher Str. 4, Hof (Bayern/Franken)
Überraschend wurde ich unter 33 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus 650 Bewerbungen für den Armin-Sandig-Preis 2020 mit drei meiner Fliesentableaus nominiert. Die mit der Preisverleihung verbundene Ausstellung wird im Februar in der Freiheitshalle Hof eröffnet.
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.


 

22. Januar 20:00 Uhr, Videopremiere
gleich im Januar geht das Beethovenjahr in die Verlängerung mit ELISE SHUT UP!
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten und Pianisten Andreas F. Staffel und mir ist ein interdisziplinäres Videoprojekt entstanden, welches wir euch erstmalig und live aus dem Musikstudio Ohrpheo vorstellen und streamen wollen. Im Anschluss unserer Videopremiere wird der Journalist Ernst Ludwig von Aster (Deutschlandradio) eine Gesprächsrunde mit den Beteiligten des Projektes leiten.

Ein Pianist und Hände an sechs Spieluhren liefern sich ein Duell um und mit Beethovens -bis zum Überdruss kopierter- Melodie ‚Für Elise‘. Die Spielwerke stecken in Konsolen, die jeweils anonymisierte Büsten berühmter Komponisten tragen. Beethoven selbst lässt sich in diesem Ensemble nur hören. In 6 Variationen wird seine verkommerzialisierte Bagatelle analog und digital liebevoll gestreichelt, verdreht, zerhackt und ganz sanft zu Grabe getragen. Das Videoprojekt ‚Elise, shut up!‘ ist ein Dialog zwischen Dana Widawskis klingenden Skulpturen und Andreas F. Staffels Komposition der sich sehen und hören lassen kann. 

Weiter Infos unter: www.andreas-staffel.de #Beethoven2020 oder auf dieser Seite
Link: Aufzeichnung der Premiere vom 22.01. im Ohrpheo